Aham Prema

 

IMG_20160206_002514

On the 4th February 2016 I woke up with a need to say the ‘Aham Prema’ mantra. Over the past few weeks I had realised that my mind had gone a bit off kilter and I needed to get to that place of equilibrium again. I needed to realign with my true values.

I began chanting Aham Prema on the bus to work, throughout the day, before I went to bed and while I was falling asleep. Over the following days I became increasingly devoted to reciting the mantra and spent a long time going over the mantra in my head while I was doing my daily activities.

Here is an extract from Thomas Ashley- Farrand in his book, ‘Shakti Mantras’:

“With this simple mantra, you affirm your own essential nature as one of Divine Love. The vibration of this mantra begins the process of transforming your entire body, being, nature, and spirit into an emanation, your own particular emanation, of Divine Love. “

The meaning of Aham Prema is simple. It means ‘I Am Divine Love’. If recited with devotion over a long period of time, it will completely change you and make you a living embodiment of love. When you invoke this quality in yourself, love will begin to permeate more strongly in every aspect of your life, every situation, every interaction.

It is a life transforming mantra.

It promotes self- love  and when this happens it gives the opportunity for you to love the universe more and for the universe to show you that love back to you. If you give out love, love will be given to you. This mantra can change your whole experience. Love is transcendental and selfless and it is what we truly are. Once love spreads throughout our being, it will change our behaviours into pure expressions of love. These expressions will have an effect on the rest of the universe, the butterfly effect will take it’s course, and you will contribute to the collective uplifting of all beings.

I am looking forward to see the changes in the universe.

Blessings

 

 

Leave a Reply

